The Biblical Themes of the Narnia Chronicles

In a letter written March 5, 1961, C. S. Lewis identified the main religious theme for each of the seven books in the Chronicles of Narnia series. Here is Lewis’ own account of how “the whole series works out.” (Ligonier Ministries)

  • The Magician’s Nephew:  the creation and how evil entered Narnia
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe:  the crucifixion and resurrection
  • Prince Caspian:  restoration of the true religion after a corruption
  • The Horse and His Boy:  the calling and conversion of a heathen
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader:  the spiritual life (especially in Reepicheep)
  • The Silver Chair:  the continued war against the powers of darkness
  • The Last Battle:  the coming of the Antichrist (the Ape), the end of the world, and the last judgment

Click here to take part in the Narnia poll:  “In which order do you think the
    Narnia Chronicles should be read?”

Click here for more Narnia related posts.
Click here for Narnia sermon series.

Leave a Reply