Not Since 1952

Here is an interesting fact about the 2008 Presidential Elections:

2008 is the first time since 1952 that neither political party has a presidential candidate who is either an incumbent or a sitting vice president.

And here is a list of all the incumbents and/or sitting vice presidents who ran for office in each of the presidential elections since 1952:

  • 2004 – George W. Bush (R) – incumbent (won)
  • 2000 – Al Gore (D) – sitting vice president (lost to George W. Bush)
  • 1996 – Bill Clinton (D) – incumbent (won)
  • 1992 – George H. Bush (R) – incumbent (lost to Bill Clinton)
  • 1988 – George H. Bush (R) – sitting vice president (won)
  • 1984 – Ronald Reagan (R) – incumbent (won)
  • 1980 – Jimmy Carter (D) – incumbent (lost to Ronald Reagan)
  • 1976 – Gerald Ford (R) – *incumbent (lost to Jimmy Carter)
  • 1972 – Richard Nixon (R) – incumbent (won)
  • 1968 – Hubert Humphrey(D) – sitting vice president (lost to Richard Nixon)
  • 1964 – Lyndon Johnson (D) – *incumbent (won)
  • 1960 – Richard Nixon (R) – sitting vice president (lost to John F. Kennedy)
  • 1956 – Dwight Eisenhower (R) – incumbent (won)
  • 1952 – Dwight Eisenhower (R) won the presidency over Adlai Stevenson (D) in 1952. The presidential incumbent was Harry S. Truman (D) and the sitting vice president was Alben Barkley (D). Both were elected in 1948, and neither ran for president in 1952. This was also the first year the socialist party stopped running candidates for President of the United States.

*Lyndon Johnson and Gerald Ford were both originally elected as vice presidents. Lyndon Johnson succeeded John F. Kennedy as president upon Kennedy’s assassination on November 22, 1963. Gerald Ford was appointed vice president in 1973 after Spiro Agnew resigned, and then succeeded Richard Nixon as president upon Nixon’s resignation on August 9, 1974.

Information: Presidential Elections at InfoPlease

HT: World on the Web


  1. Brian Grinder says:

    I don’t think Gerald Ford was elected Vice-President. He became VP after Spiro Agnew resigned, but he was appointed, not elected.

  2. Ray Fowler says:

    Brian – You are right. Thanks. I have made the correction above.

Leave a Reply